Our Milestones

1923       New Zealand Native Bird Protection Society formed

1930       Southland and Otago branches formed

1942       Abel Tasman National Park established

1948       Name changed to Forest and Bird Protection Society of New Zealand

1952       10,000 hectares of Waipoua Kauri Forest protected

1952       National Parks Act passed

1952       Fiordland National Park established

1963       Name changed to Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society of New Zealand

1970       Forest & Bird delivered Save Manapōuri petition of 264,907 signatures to Parliament

1972       Lake Manapōuri protected

1976       $25,000 given to help the government buy Maud Island sanctuary

1984       Pureora and Whirinaki forests saved from logging

1987       Department of Conservation created

1987       Paparoa National Park established

1988       Kiwi Conservation Club for children started

1991       Forest Accord signed to stop native forests being logged

1995       Marine mammal sanctuary established around sub-Antarctic Auckland Islands

1996       Kahurangi National Park established

2006       High country parks created

2011       Appeal against resource consent to mine Denniston Plateau lodged

2010       National parks protected from mining

2012       Mōkihinui River saved from a hydro dam