## North Canterbury Forest and Bird Annual General Meeting Christchurch Art Gallery Auditorium 6.00 pm, Tuesday 30 May 2023

## **Minutes**

Present: 60 members (Separate sign-in sheet to be appended) plus in excess of 15 non-members.

6pm AGM opened: - karakia

**Welcome and Acknowledgements** of Tangata Whenua, ECAN and City Councillors present, F&B Board members and Bernie Calder, long-term Chair of North Canterbury Branch.

**Apologies**: Rick Robinson, Lorna Deppe, Renée Habluetzel, Valerie Campbell, Alan Chow, Natasha Sitarz, Mick Ingram, Rosalie Snoyink.

Moved that apologies be accepted: Frances Wall Seconded: Helen Hills

Minutes of previous AGM,12 July 2022

Moved as true and correct: Diana Shand (Chairperson)

Matters Arising from those minutes: Nil

**Financial Report** (presented by co-treasurer Hugh Thorpe). Hugh spoke to the Statements of Receipts and Payments, and Assets and Liabilities, for year ended 31 December 2022. He moved that these reports be received (subject to an addition of the date of the Chairperson's signature, at the conclusion of the latter statement dated 31/12/22); seconded Diana. The motion was carried.

**Chairpersons Report**: Presented in summary by co-chairperson Diana Shand. A link to the full report is to be found in the May e-newsletter and on the Forest and Bird website under 'Branches', and was also available at the meeting in a limited number of hard copies. Diana thanked committee members for their work and also emphasized the valuable work of members outside of the committee who have special roles. Board member Kaya Freeman presented Certificates of Appreciation to 14 recipients (appended).

## **Call for nominations** for the following positions:

Diana and Chay stood down for the election of co-chairpersons. Frances Wall called for nominations for these positions.

• Chairperson (or co-chairpersons):

Diana Shand, Chay Cotter were nominated by Helen Hills, seconded Louise Holmes. There being no other nominations from the floor, the vote was **carried unanimously**.

Diana resumed chairing and called for nominations for the remaining positions

Secretary:

Frances Wall and Jen Miller were nominated as co-secretaries by Louise Holmes, seconded Helen Hills.

Carried.

• Treasurer (or co-treasurers):

Michael Godfrey and Rick Robinson were nominated by Hugh Thorpe, seconded by Frances Wall
Carried

Health and Safety Officers:

Helen Hills and Frances Wall were nominated by Diana Shand, seconded Chay Cotter

Carried

Other committee members:

Former committee members Valerie Campbell, Lorna Deppe, Hugh Thorpe, Louise Holmes, and Helen Hills were nominated by Diana Shand, seconded by Kaya Freeman. Carried

• New committee members:

**Genevieve Robinson** was nominated by Greg Byrne (*Genevieve declined*). **Ella Peoples (**Youth Hub) was nominated by Kaya Freeman, seconded Chay Cotter. **Carried** 

The AGM closed at 6.50 pm Lance McCaskill Memorial address.

Diana Shand introduced the speaker, Nicola Toki - Chief Executive Forest and Bird.

'Building on the legacy of conservation heroes: Forest & Bird 100 years on – why nature's voice matters more than ever'. Nicola pointed out that the foresight, ideals and practices of earlier Forest and Bird luminaries such as Val Sanderson, and Canterbury's outstanding conservationist Lance McCaskill, provide a foundation for contemporary conservation advocates. She emphasized the importance of promoting a message of positivity in pressing for environmental and biodiversity protection.

This was followed by some questions from the floor.

Supper was served in the foyer.

## Appendix: Recipients of Certificates of Appreciation

- Phill McEntee
- Steve Attwood
- Eleanor Bissell
- Bruce Craig
- Dave Evans
- Ann Godfrey
- Michael Godfrey
- The WEA
- Mick Ingram
- Joy Talbot
- John Thacker
- Maria and Paddy West
- Tim Williams