South Waikato

About Us

The South Waikato branch operates in the central North Island above lake Taupo, and includes the towns of Tirau, Putaruru and Tokoroa, the King Country, Otorohanga and the Te Kuiti area. Founded in 1986, the branch currently has 65 members, who work on forest preservation and stream care. 


Conservation Projects

The Jim Barnett Reserve at Te Waotu and Lake Moana-Nui in Tokoroa are the main sites where the branch works,  carrying out forest restoration and promoting bush walks.


Get involved

People of all ages are welcome to join conservation activities. The more hands are working, the better results are.  You can also join groups to go bush walking or camping in the forest.  Interesting meetings are held in the branch every two months, with regional, national and international environmental information topics covered.

Branch contact

Contact: Anne & Jack Groos
Address: 37 Waianiwa Place Tokoroa 3420
Phone: 07 8867456